a dash of colour

As I mentioned Monday, I planted some flowers! Because we are wanting to turf the rest of our garden we knew we had to do some prep work first. I wanted a nice flower bed on the right of the garden and we also want a fire pit that we will be making ourselves in the middle. No point in turfing the whole space and then having to dig it up, so we are making those areas first.

Now I am not going to tell you how to plant flowers. I assume we all know how to dig and shove a plant in the ground, but I thought I would just share what I did as I am so very proud to have flowers of my very own for the first time in my 29 years. Wait, 28. How old am I? I always forget.

I just used a digging spade and started making my edges. I wanted it to be curvy for a nice contrast to the square grid vegetable patch. I just eyeballed it and started going to town.

Please ignore my poncho. Well, it isn’t really a poncho as it is open in the front and I had to tie it together to keep it out of the way, but still. Ignore it. I was cold. It does look nice when worn correctly. As in, not when you are elbow deep in dirt. Ahem.

So I dug.

You can get a real idea of how long our garden is now that I am in there for reference. We are planning on putting the fire pit right behind where I am with benches on the other side. Cannot wait.

There she is all dug up. Once the turf is in there will be a nice clean edge but I still fixed that wonky edge and then started putting my flowers in. I used ranunculus (my new favourite flower), daisies,  sweet allison, a miscellaneous orange plant, and some other one I have no idea what it is yet 🙂 Maybe foxglove? Time will tell. OH! I also popped in some gladiola bulbs along the fence in the back as well. They will hopefully add some nice height to the space. Whoop!

Just a little colour to brighten my day.

 

4 thoughts on “a dash of colour

Leave a Reply

