crunchy peanut butter granola

I am not a big breakfast person. I mean I like breakfast foods, a lot, but not right when I wake up. Offer me a full breakfast when I open my eyes and I would most likely retch. An hour or two later though? Pass the plate! I don’t have time to eat a full on breakfast so what I usually do is eat when I get back from the school run. And 9 out of 10 I have granola and yogurt. I can’t eat yogurt on its own (texture issues) so adding a sprinkle of granola gives me some much needed crunch. I also like to have my yogurt granola fix at night when I am feeling peckish as it really helps me to not feel deprived and also it tastes like a treat!

I had seen this recipe on Shape magazine’s website forever ago, and kinda used it as a guideline for my homemade granola. I love this recipe because it cooks super quick. Whereas most granolas take an hour or more, this can be made, baked, and bagged in less than that. It is also pretty good for you if you have more self control than me and don’t grab handfuls of it all day. Ahem.

Let’s start!

Gather your ingredients which include oats, peanut butter, honey, cinnamon, vanilla, and whatever extras you would like.

I always double the recipe above because this stuff is addictive. So I put 4 tablespoons of honey and 4 tablespoons of peanut butter in a bowl. Heat in microwave in 30 second increments, stirring between each, until your mixture is melted and smooth. Usually only takes me a minute total.

Dump in your cinnamon and vanilla.

Then your oats! Excuse Miss Sara for photobombing this picture. Of course I had help!

Now for extras! You can leave the recipe the way it is and have a wonderful peanut butter granola, but I like mixing it up with different things. I always have left over bits from previous baking so I just use what I have. I had hazelnuts left over from my just because cake, and coconut left from my chocolate coconut pecan pie I make at Christmas. In they go!

Then mix it all up so everything is coated, then spread onto a baking sheet. I use baking paper and cooking spray. Never be to careful! I would probably cry if it stuck, so it is an emotional precaution.

Bake for about 8-10 minutes. It will burn quickly so do not walk away! I use this time to clean my dirty dishes I created and let my nose be my guide. If it smells ready, it is. At about 5 minutes I take it out and give it a good stir. Once it is done it will look all golden and smell amazing. Let it cool completely and it will harden up and get crunchy as it cools. I pop mine in a large freezer bag to keep it fresh.

It tastes like a peanut butter oatmeal cookie. I love it sprinkled on vanilla yogurt for breakfast with some cut up strawberries, but it is also good on ice cream, with milk, or just by the handful. Nobody knows what you do in your house so nobody will judge if you eat it all. Just do it.

I am going to face plant myself in this glass. Excuse me.

Crunchy Peanut Butter Granola

4tbs honey

4tbs peanut butter

1/2tsp cinnamon

1/2tsp vanilla (i use vanilla paste which has vanilla beans in it as I don’t like extract)

2c oats (i use porridge oats/rolled oats)

Add any extras you prefer. In this batch I used about 1/4c chopped roasted hazelnuts and 1/4c coconut*.

*If you want to add more than this (like a few kinds of nuts or dried fruit) I would recommend adding an extra tablespoon of both honey and peanut butter to ensure everything gets coated.

Heat oven to 200 or gas mark 6. In a microwavable bowl, add your honey and peanut butter. Heat in 30 second increments, stirring between each, until peanut butter is melted and the mixture is loose and smooth.

Add cinnamon, vanilla, oats, and any extras you prefer. Mix it all together and spread onto a baking sheet sprayed with cooking spray.

Bake for 5 minutes, then stir and bake an additional 3-5 minutes. Once golden brown, remove from oven and allow to cool completely. Store in an air tight bag or jar and enjoy!

 

2 thoughts on “crunchy peanut butter granola

Leave a Reply

