easy sun dried tomatoes

My garden was not very fruitful this year. Boo. A few things have grown, and I am hoping that the carrots, potatoes, beets, and leeks do well this fall. The thing I was most upset about was not having tomatoes. I started them from seed and I think I just didn’t start them early enough as they have just flowered. With the cooler nights starting though, I am sure I won’t get a single tomato this year. I was really looking forward to doing some of my mom’s recipes too, so I thought I would share this one with you all in case you have more tomatoes than you know what to do with.

You could peel, seed, chop and freeze, or make roasted sauce, soup, marinara sauce or even pizza sauce, but some days we all just feel too lazy to do any of that, so here is an alternative that really adds amazing flavor to your dishes. They are amazing to have on hand during fall and winter too!

Nothing is easier than making your own sun dried tomatoes and if you’ve priced them lately, you know you’ll save a bundle doing it yourself.

Here’s how:

“Sun Dried” Tomatoes

Heat oven to 200 degrees (gas mark 4 or 5). You wan’t a warm/hot oven, not a scorching hot one. We are replicating the sun remember!

Line as many cookie sheets as you can fit in your oven with foil (for easy clean up). Spray foil with non-stick spray.

Cut tomatoes in half (after washing them). Romas are best for this. Cut them from stem to bottom, the long way.

Place on prepared cookie sheets (cram them in, as many as will fit, side by side, skin side down).

Pop them in the oven for 10-12 hours and bingo…”sun dried” tomatoes.

After they cool, you can store them in freezer bags (they keep for months in the freezer or about two weeks in the fridge) OR pack them into jars filled with olive oil and keep in the fridge even longer. If you want to get fancy, you can add basil, oregano (any fresh herbs will do) or garlic to the jars too. These would make great gifts. I think I would cry if someone gave me a jar of these, but then again I am a little weird 🙂

You can use these to make delicious sun dried tomato crostini appetizers too!

5 thoughts on “easy sun dried tomatoes

    • Thanks for asking 🙂 I personally use them most as a flavor ‘boost’ so I would add them to my pasta sauces, soups, stews and so on for that special hum of flavor. You can also chop them up and add directly to your pizzas, they would be amazing on a nice focaccia, or even add them to your favorite pesto recipe for a sun dried tomato pesto. I posted a recipe today too that gives an appetizer idea. 🙂

  1. Pingback: sun dried tomato crostini | everlasting home

Leave a Reply

